



PRME Chapter UK and Ireland

Responsible Business and Management Writing Competition 2017/18

Announcement of Prize-Winners

30 April 2018

The PRME Chapter UK and Ireland is pleased to announce the winners of its second annual Responsible Business and Management Writing Competition. Dr Alec Wersun, Chapter Chair, has welcomed "the clear evidence demonstrated in the competition entries of a deepening engagement with themes central to the pursuit of the UN Sustainable Development Goals across the business school sector." He has also paid particular tribute to "all those academic staff whose work, week in and week out, has inspired and motivated their students to grapple with the challenges of sustainability, ethics and responsible management and leadership"

The undergraduate competition winner is Dominic Rose of the University of Nottingham. Outlining the reasons for awarding him the top prize, Dr Paul Cashian, Chair of the UG Judging Panel, commented, "This submission is an excellent example of the application of both ethical leadership theory and the concept of Nash equilibrium to undertake a critical evaluation of the issues around the leadership style adopted in a Silicon Valley medical start-up company". Joint second prize winners were Monica Oregna of the University of Salford and Tara Haden of the University of Sussex.

The winner of the first prize in the postgraduate category is Brogan McLachlan of the University of St Andrews, for her essay on whether the United Nations should develop a treaty on business and human rights. Commenting on her winning qualities, Dr Christine Gilligan, Chair of the PG Panel, said, "Brogan raises important issues in relation to the PRME agenda and addresses them well. Her essay has a very clear focus, was well researched and written and draws on a variety of sound academic sources." Second and third prize winners were Marius Saunes of Glasgow Caledonian University and Samuel Darragh of Bath University.

On behalf of the organisers, Chris Blackburn, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean of the Oxford Brookes Business School, congratulated both prize winners and other finalists on their achievements. He additionally thanked members of the judging panels for "being so generous in volunteering their time and expertise", and added, "we look forward to extending the reach of the competition yet further in 2018/19, and offering additional, innovative ways of recognising student engagement with the Responsible Management Education Agenda".

Any enquiries about the results or the third competition planned for 2018/19 can be directed to Dr Jonathan Louw at prme@brookes.ac.uk

For more information about the PRME Chapter UK and Ireland see: <u>https://www.unprme.org.uk/</u>





PRIZE-WINNER LIST

Postgraduate Category

First Prize	Brogan McLachlan	University of St Andrews
Second Prize	Marius Saunes	Glasgow Caledonian University
Third Prize	Samuel Darragh	Bath University

Other Finalists (in alphabetical order)

Alessandra Abreu (Queen Mary, University of London), Adam Graf (Glasgow Caledonian University), Reuben Lyon (Bath University), Deepa Narayana (Nottingham Trent University), Leila Rabelo (Glasgow Caledonian University), Caroline Russell-Smith (Glasgow Caledonian University) and Kimberley Winternitz (Glasgow Caledonian University)

Undergraduate Category

First Prize	Dominic Rose	University of Nottingham
Joint Second Prize	Monica Oregna	University of Salford
	Tara Haden	University of Sussex

Other Finalists (in alphabetical order)

Elizabeth Black (University of Kent), Kira Graham (University of Hertfordshire), Cerys Hough (University of Salford), Gethin Roberts (University of Salford), Giuseppe Trimarco (Glasgow Caledonian University), Daniel Weirig (Royal Holloway, University of London), and Steve Williams (University of Southampton)

(For membership of the Judging Panels, see overleaf)



PRME Principles for Responsible Management Education



JUDGING PANELS

Postgraduate Panel		
Dr Christine Gilligan	Sheffield Hallam University (Chair)	
Professor Peter Stokes	Leicester Castle Business School, De Montfort University	
Undergraduate Panels		
Dr Paul Cashian	Coventry University (Chair)	
Dr Jana Filosof	University of Hertfordshire	
Matthew Gitsham	Hult International Business School	
Dr Amir Keshtiban	University of Northumbria	
Meredith Storey	University of Limerick	
Professor Tony Wall	University of Chester	